Meet Erika - Parent Coach and Educator - Westport Moms

How old are your kids and how long have you lived in Westport? I have two daughters; Sadie is 6, and my Marlowe is 3! We have lived in Westport for almost 3 years since August, 2019!

How did you end up where you are now in terms of your job, or whatever passion project it is you might be doing? I got a Master’s degree in Education in School Counseling from Fordham in 2010. I then worked as a school counselor in NYC public and charter schools for 8 years. I knew I had a passion and special skill to help families, but I felt the school setting was a challenging work/life balance as a mom. I naturally connect and chat with everyone I meet about their kids and families, and I was dying to feel more fulfilled professionally, and get back to work.. One day it just clicked. I needed to be coaching parents! It is my passion to help them feel more confident, empowered, and connected in order to help their kids THRIVE.

What is the last book you read? Simplicity Parenting by Kim John Payne. It provides an amazing perspective for this busy, rushed generation of families, a must read.

What is one food you could not live without? Sushi! (Love Oko and Kotobuki in Stamford)

What is your greatest indulgence? Buying food from Stiles for family dinner too often instead of cooking!

What is one thing people would be surprised to know about you? I am a first generation American. My mother was born in Australia (her dad, my grandpa, is a Holocaust survivor) and my dad is from Kiev, Former Soviet Union and came to the U.S. as a teenager.

If you weren’t doing what you are today, what might your career path have been? I was voted “Most likely to be a Talk Show host” in high school! Hosting an Oprah-like show would have been my dream.

If you could travel to one place this next year, where would it be and why? Israel; I’m dying to take my kids (and husband) there.

If you could live somewhere other than where you do, where would it be? Nowhere! I am so beyond grateful to be here.

If you had 24 hours to do whatever you wanted to do, what would it be? I love my new job as a parent coach so much… so, it would be a lot of fun and a little work.
Wake up, walk with the kids to Coffee An for breakfast and a treat! Go to a workout class. Work- Meet with one of the awesome parents I support. Have lunch with a friend. Spend the afternoon/early evening with my kids and husband at the beach – our favorite thing in the world. (Bob Marley, Red Hot Chili Peppers, or Grateful Dead would be playing on our speaker…or Disney Music if our kids are choosing) Go out to dinner with my husband (Kawa Ni and Rowayton Seafood are our faves)… and if it was really a dream day, we would end the day by seeing a concert at the Levitt!

Are you a morning person, or a night owl? How does sleep fit into your life? More of a morning person. Sleep is very important, so I always prioritize it. I am not patient or focused with my kids – or anyone else in my life – unless I get my sleep! I also try to take a nap when I need one! I like to model for my kids that rest is important for our mental and physical health, too.

What thing has surprised you most about being in the suburbs? The feeling of community in Westport, which is very special.

What is the first thing you do when you walk in the door after a long day? Take off my bra!

At a movie: Candy or Popcorn?
Cook or order in?
Husband cooks! (he was a chef in NYC for several years)
Cake or Ice Cream?
Ice cream! (Mitchell’s in Cleveland, Ohio- the best ice cream ever.)
Iced Coffee or Hot Coffee? 
Beach or Mountains? 
Puzzle or Board Game? 
Reading or writing?
Watch or play sports?
Take a “run” at Compo!
Stay in or go out?
Stay in

Join The Westport Moms Community

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in-and-around The Westport, CT community with local events, community highlights, and exclusive deals.