Meet Dana! - Westport Moms
How old are your kids and how long have you lived in Westport? My boys are 3 and almost 6. We moved to Westport last August from NYC.

How did you end up where you are now in terms of your job, or whatever passion project it is you might be doing? I worked as a School Counselor in NYC for a number of years and then went on to run a college skills program for City University of New York. Simultaneously, I was doing a lot of work and training around Executive Functioning, and loved it. These were skills that I struggled with growing up, and I was fascinated to learn how the brain works. After my oldest son was born in 2015, I decided to start my own business as a private Learning Specialist with a focus on teaching children Executive Functioning skills; skills and strategies to work smarter, not harder.

What was your best memory from 2020, a strange year we know… Our family took up hiking during Covid. We were living in NYC through most of last spring and would spend every weekend driving up north to explore different areas. All four of us really enjoy being outdoors and learning about wildlife.

What are you most looking forward to in 2021?  Getting together with friends and family! It’s been so great to experience Westport in the summer time. Meeting up with friends at the beach is the best!

What is the best show you have recently (binge) watched? AND/OR what is the last book you read? I love all of Elin Hildebrand’s novels and am currently watching the new season of Atypical on Netflix – it’s so good.

What’s your favorite app right now- for you- and for your kids? I love the Calm app for an easy way to slow down and relax. I also love the Barstool Pizza Review app – I always like to know where the good pizza is.  My kids love the NatGeo app – they are really into learning about animals.

What is one food you could not live without? Pizza, pizza, pizza!

If you weren’t doing what you are today, what do you think your career path might have been?  Probably a landscape architect. I studied landscape design in college for a period of time and I loved it. I love flowers and plants, the design aspect and getting to be outside; moving around all day.

Are you a morning person, or a night owl? How does sleep fit into your life right now?  I am a morning person. I love sleep and need 8 hours (tough to accomplish!). I am so much more alert, functional and happy after a good nights sleep

What thing has surprised you most about being in the suburbs? How excited I was to get back into gardening. I loved it as a kid – the possibilities are endless!

Cake or Pie?
At a movie: Candy or Popcorn? Candy
Pancakes or Waffles? Pancakes
Iced Coffee or Hot Coffee? Iced coffee
Beach or Mountains? Beach
Puzzle or Board Game?  Board game
Chocolate or vanilla? Chocolate
Reading or writing? Reading
Ketchup or mustard? Ketchup
Watch or play sports? Play sports
Winter or summer? Summer
Comedy or Drama? Comedy

For more about Dana Aussenberg, M.S. Ed., you can visit her website here.

Join The Westport Moms Community

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in-and-around The Westport, CT community with local events, community highlights, and exclusive deals.