Devon Woodhill

Meet Craig!

How old are your kids and how long have you lived in Westport? My kids are 4 & 1 and a half (she’s very specific about the half). We’ve lived in Westport for about six and a half years – we moved here in 2011 from Washington, D.C.

What has been the hardest thing about raising kids and working full time with long hours? Striking the right balance between work and family life is definitely the hardest part. I worry that I’m missing too many of the little moments when the kids say or do something extra cute, and I’m stuck on a plane, or on a set.

What is your favorite family activity to do in Westport or the surrounding towns? Dinner at Dunville’s with the family is a tradition we love. We also enjoy strolling the beaches of Compo, walking down Main Street, and of course a visit to Saugatuck Sweets.

What was your most memorable family vacation and why? Without a doubt, our recent trip to Disney World in Florida. Seeing the constant joy and wonder on my son’s face as his favorite characters came to life in front of him was an experience I’ll never forget.

What is your proudest daddy moment? My proudest daddy moment is when both of my kids said Da Da for the first time.

What’s your favorite app or gadget right now? My favorite app is Twitter because it’s an easy way to stay up to date with the latest news and quickly read in on something when I’m at home with the kids.

What’s your favorite sport to play and/or watch (who do you root for?) And/or what’s your workout of choice? My favorite sport to watch is football. I root for the Washington Redskins and the Carolina Panthers. My workout of choice is running – especially on Compo beach. There’s nothing better than a great day on Compo Beach.

What’s your favorite restaurant in town for a family dinner? Friends? Dunville with Family. Any restaurant of Brian Lewis’ (i.e., The Cottage, OKO) with friends.

What is one thing people would be surprised to know about you? As much as I love Westport (and I really, really do), my heart will always be in South Carolina where I’m from.

If you had 24 hours to do whatever you wanted – what would you do? Sleep!

What is your greatest regret? When I graduated from college, I joined the workforce immediately. For the purposes of this interview, my greatest regret is not taking that time to travel or check some things off the bucket list.

What’s your drink of choice? Bourbon!

What is the one thing your spouse does that you are eternally grateful for? =) Everything (I love being married, and would like to stay that way).

What is one piece of advice you would pass along to other dads OR what do you wish you could tell your younger self about being a father? Take as much pleasure in the small moments as you can, and don’t beat yourself up too hard.

How did you end up where you are now in terms of your job, or whatever passion project it is you might be doing? I started as a producer and photographer in Columbia, South Carolina where I grew up. I then became a reporter there, and eventually a news anchor. I moved to Washington, D.C. in 2008 to work for the NBC owned and operated station there – where I met a girl and got married. We moved up to Westport in 2011.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to our Mailing List

Stay up-to-date with what is happening in and around Westport, CT